Previous Awardees of Pediatrics Funding

Current Awardees

Summer's Wish Pediatric Cardiology Innovators Fund

‘Optimizing Human iPSC-derived Cardiac Myocytes for Translation to the Hypoplastic Left Heart’
Dr. Joseph Metzger, PhD – 2017 Awardee

‘Clinical Trial Approval for a Pediatric Conduit that Grows’
Dr. Robert Tranquillo, PhD – 2017 Awardee

Cross-Divisional Award

‘Breast Milk Acquired CMV Infections in Premature Infants Increase the Risk of Chronic Lung Disease and Secondary Bacterial Infections’
Dr. Erin A. Osterholm, MD and Dr. Mark R. Schleiss, MD
Division of Pediatric Neonatology and Infectious Diseases

Clinical/Teaching Scholar Award

‘Bedside Ultrasound to Assess the Impact of Preprocedural Fasting on Gastric Contents and Volume’
Dr. Pablo Avendano, MD, MPH – 2017 Awardee

‘Cancer after Kidney Transplantation in Children’
Dr. Sarah Kizilbash, MD – 2017 Awardee

‘Event-related Potentials for Early Detection of the Cerebral Form of X-linked Adrenoleukodystrophy: A Feasibility Study’
Dr. Elizabeth Pierpont, PhD – 2017 Awardee

Pediatric "R" Award

‘Creating a Minnesota Statewide Population-based Study of Children with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis’
Dr. Colleen Correll, MD, MPH – 2017 Awardee

 ‘Enhanced Early Nutrition for Preterm Infants to Improve Neurodevelopment and Minimize Metabolic Risk’
Dr. Sara Ramel, MD – 2017 Awardee

‘Efficacy and Cost-Effectiveness of Doula Care for Incarcerated Pregnant Women’
Dr. Rebecca Shlafer, PhD, MPH – 2017 Awardee

‘The Coordinated Roles of PHD and JARID in Early-Life Iron Deficiency-Induced Adult Neural Gene Dysregulation’
Dr. Phu V. Tran, PhD – 2017 Awardee

Andrew David Sit Foundation Innovators Fund Award

'Impact of a Novel Electronic Reporting System on the Detection of Congenital Heart Disease in Minnesota'

Dr. Jamie Lohr, MD - 2017 Awardee

Click on the specific Pediatrics funding program below to view previous awardees.

Cross-Divisional Grants


  • Mark Osborn (BMT), Anna Petryk (Endocrinology), and Paul Orchard (BMT)

"Targeting the pathological bone manifestations of mucopolysaccharidosis type IH"

  • Sarah Cusick (Global Peds), Lynda Polgreen (Endocrinology), Maria Kroupina (Global Pediatrics) and Troy Lund (BMT)

"Vitamin D status: Association with iron therapy effectiveness and risk of malaria infection"

  • Erin Osterholm (Neonatology) and Mark Schleiss (Infectious Diseases)

"Impact of Breast Milk-Acquired Cytomegalovirus Infections on Clinical Outcomes in Premature Infants"

Vikings Jr. Faculty Award


  • Gwen Fischer (Critical Care)

"Weight based epinephrine applicator for pediatric cardiac arrest."

  • Tate Gisslen (Neonatology)

"Effects of intra-amniotic LPS on the developing neurons of fetal and neonatal rats."

  • Janet Hume (Critical Care)

"Role of novel superantigen Selx in cardiac dysfunction in a murine model of CA-MRSA sepsis."

  • Amy Linabery (Epidemiology)

"Genetic susceptibility to pediatric and adolescent Hodgkin lymphoma."

Alexander C. Jundt Award

2013 - Raghavendra Rao, MD

2012 - Michael Kyba, PhD

2011 - Alistair McGregor, PhD

2010 - Bryce Binstadt, MD, PhD

2009 - Sing Sing Way, MD, PhD

2008 - Lisa Schimmenti, MD

2007 - Xianzheng Zhou, MD, PhD

2006 - Glenn Gourley, MD

2005 - Brenda Weigel, MD

2004 - Wei Chen, MD

2003 - Michael Verneris, MD

2002 - Cheryl Gale, MD

2001 - Iris Borowsky, MD, PhD

2000 - Imad Haddad, MD

1999 - Angela Panoskaltsis-Mortari, PhD

1998 - Elizabeth Ingulli, MD

1997 - Julie Ross, PhD

1996 - Antoinette Moran, MD

1995 - Warren Regelmann, MD

1994 - Paul Orchard, MD

1993 - John Wagner, MD

1992 - Susan Berry, MD

Irvine McQuarrie Award

2012 - Sara Ramel

2010 - Lynda Polgreen, MD

2008 - Bryce Binstadt, MD, PhD

2006 - Marla Eisenberg, ScD, MPH

2006 - Arif Somani, MD

2002 - Elizabeth Ingulli, MD

2000 - Margaret MacMillan, MD

2000 - Raghavendra Rao, MD

1998 - Iris Borowsky, MD, PhD

1996 - Stella Davies, MBBS, PhD

1994 - Paul Orchard, MD

1992 - Emmanuel Katsanis, MD

1990 - Kimberly Krabill, MD

Click on the specific funding program below to view previous Pediatrics awardees.

Office of the Vice President for Research

U of MN Foundation