News & Events

Talking with UMN Experts

Talking youth violence prevention awareness with Dr. Iris Borowsky, April 2019

Talking environment's impact on youth development with Dr. Cathy Jordan, April 2019

In the Media

Cathy Jordan was featured on MPR News on July 15 to discuss the evidence for nature's benefits. The recording is available at

Drs. Emily Borman-Shoap and Peter Scal honored as one of Mpls.St.Paul Magazine 2019 Top Doctors

'Short-sighted' decisions in Minnesota's Medicaid program are harming patients, doctor charges | Star Tribune  featuring Dr. Janna Gewirtz O'Brien

'Mental health is health': Docs who treat kids get trained to spot mental health problems featuring the work of Dr. Emily Borman-Shoap, May 2019

Do Experiences With Nature Promote Learning? Converging Evidence of a Cause-and-Effect Relationship, featuring the work of Dr. Cathy Jordan, February 2019

Report: Traumatic childhood experiences linked to greater risk of obesity, featuring the work of Dr. Laurel Davis, Dr. Andy Barnes, and Dr. Rebecca Shlafer, January 2019

Correlates of positive parental attitudes towards adolescent indoor tanning in the U.S.A., featuring the work of Dr. Annie-Laurie McRee, December 2018

Profiles of minority stressors and identity centrality among sexual minority Latinx youth, featuring division postdoctoral fellow Dr. Maura Shramko, December 2018

A Phenomenological Study on the Experience of Syrian Asylum-Seekers and Refugees in the United States, featuring division postdoctoral fellow Dr. Damir Utržan, November 2018

When Canyons Are Classrooms and Trees and Trees Teach Lessons, featuring Cathy Jordan, August 2018

Report: More US teens are rejecting 'boy' or 'girl" gender identities, featuring the work of division members Barb McMorris, Amy Gower, and Marla Eisenberg, February 2018